2002 MAC Hermann Trophy Winner

College: Santa Clara University

Position: Midfielder

Hometown: San Jose, CA

Wagner won the award convincingly. Christie Welsh of Penn State, winner of the 2001 Hermann Trophy and the Missouri Athletic Club Player of the Year award, was the runner-up, followed by Catherine Reddick of North Carolina and Christine Sinclair of Portland.

Wagner helped lead the Broncos to the 2002 College Cup title match, where they lost in overtime to Portland 2-1. She missed seven games with SCU during the season while helping the U.S. Women’s National Team to the Gold Cup title and a berth in the Women’s World Cup in China. Wagner’s rise to college soccer’s top honor was not a meteoric one. She battled through several injuries throughout her career and persevered.

Wagner is the second player from Santa Clara to win Player of the Year honors. Mandy Clemens captured the Hermann Trophy and M.A.C. award in 1999. Wagner was a finalist for both the M.A.C. and Hermann Awards in 2000 and 2001.

In 2001, Wagner helped lead Santa Clara to their first national championship. She scored the lone goal in the title match to give the Broncos a 1-0 victory over North Carolina. In addition to her accomplishments on the field, Wagner has excelled in the classroom where she carries a 3.44 GPA in combined sciences. She was named to the Verizon Academic All-District team as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).