The process of selecting a winner begins at the start of the college soccer season when a list of potential nominees is compiled by a nominating committee. Near the end of the collegiate regular season, 15 players whom the committee considers the best in Division I soccer are announced as semifinalists for the award. That list is then voted on through an online voting process by men's and women's Division I soccer coaches whose teams are current NSCAA College Services members.

In early December, the top three vote-getters for both the men's and women's trophy are announced as finalists for the award. These six individuals are invited to an annual banquet held at the Missouri Athletic Club of St. Louis. That evening, the winners of the two awards are announced and receive a 10 pound crystal replica soccer ball made by Tyrone Crystal of County Tyrone, Northern Ireland.


Mid-August – Men’s and women’s Preseason Watch list is released (Approximately the top 40 males and top 40 female Division I college soccer players from the previous season)

Early October – The “Candidates We Missed” campaign. College SIDs can energize their fans to nominate a player who did not make the Preseason Watch List to make the ballot in November.

Mid November – The semifinalists (top 15 men and top 15 women) are announced. The voting of Division I coaches begins. 

Mid December – Top three women’s finalists announced at NCAA Women’s College Cup; Top three men’s finalists announced at NCAA Men’s College Cup.

Friday, Jan. 8, 2016 – The men’s and women’s winners are announced at press conference and honored at MAC Awards Banquet.

Third weekend in January – MAC Hermann Trophy plus jerseys of most recent winners are featured at trade show booth at the National Soccer Coaches Association of America Convention – attended by more than 10,000 people.