2004 MAC Hermann Trophy Winner

College: University of Indiana

Position: Midfielder

Hometown: Columbus, OH

O'Rourke helped lead Indiana to its second consecutive NCAA championship. The team tri-captain anchored an IU defense that posted 11 shutouts and ranked among the national leaders in goals against (0.63). He was a unanimous first team All-Big Ten selection and an NSCAA first team All-America.

In the 2004 College Cup semifinals, O’Rourke assisted on the game-winner in the Hoosiers’ come-from-behind 3-2 double-overtime victory over Maryland, earning selection to the College Cup All-Tournament team.

O’Rourke not only excelled on the field, but in the classroom as well. He was named the NSCAA Scholar Athlete of the Year, becoming just the second player to win both National Player of the Year and Scholar Athlete of the Year in the same year.

O’Rourke becomes the sixth player from Indiana to win National Player of the Year honors: Todd Yeagley `94 and Ken Snow `88 & `90 won the MAC Award; Brian Maisonneuve `94, Armando Betancourt `81 and Angelo DiBernardo `78 won the Hermann Trophy.

The other two men's finalists for the 2004 Hermann Trophy were Virginia Commonwealth senior defender Gonzalo Segares (San Jose, Costa Rico) and Tulsa junior forward Ryan Pore (Mansfield, Ohio).