MAC Hermann Trophy Finalists Announced


(December 8, 2017) – United Soccer Coaches announced on Friday the men’s and women’s finalists for the 2017 MAC Hermann Trophy, based on voting by NCAA Division I soccer coaches.

The three men’s finalists are Wake Forest University senior forward Jon Bakero (Stiges, Spain), Stanford University senior defender Tomas Hilliard-Arce (Matthews, N.C.) and Indiana University senior defender Grant Lillard (Hinsdale, Ill.). Hilliard-Arce and Lillard led their teams to tonight’s College Cup semifinals, while Bakero’s 16 goals and 14 assists each rank second in NCAA Division I men’s soccer this season.

The three women’s finalists are UCLA sophomore midfielder Jessie Fleming (London, Ont.), University of South Carolina senior forward Savannah McCaskill (Chapin, S.C.) and Stanford University senior midfielder Andi Sullivan (Lorton, Va.). Fleming and Sullivan each scored in this year’s NCAA Division I women’s soccer national championship, while McCaskill is a three-time All-American and current finalist for U.S. Soccer’s Young Female Player of the Year.

The MAC Hermann Trophy, the most coveted individual honor in NCAA Division I soccer, has been awarded annually since 1967. This year’s winners will be announced on January 5, 2018 in conjunction with the 2017 MAC Hermann Trophy Banquet at the historic Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.