MAC Hermann Trophy Watch Lists announced

Three finalists from last season among 61 players named to Watch Lists

(August 8, 2017) – United Soccer Coaches and the Missouri Athletic Club announced today the 61 NCAA Division I players named to the 2017 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch Lists.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the most prestigious individual award in college soccer and is presented annually to the most outstanding male and female players of the year. This year’s winners will be announced Friday, Jan. 5, 2018 at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

Florida Gulf Coast University senior Albert Ruiz and University of Maryland junior Gordon Wild were MAC Hermann Trophy finalists a year ago and they lead a group of 31 players on the Men’s Watch List for the upcoming 2017 season. Fourteen of the 31 players were United Soccer Coaches All-Americans in 2016, including senior teammates Tomas Hilliard-Arce and Foster Langsdorf from back-to-back national champions Stanford University.

A total of 30 players are included on the Women’s Watch List, headlined by 2016 finalist Andi Sullivan and four previous national champions: Florida State goalkeeper Cassie Miller, University of Southern California defender Ally Prisock and Penn State teammates Emily Ogle and Frannie Crouse. Thirteen of the 30 players were United Soccer Coaches All-Americans last season, including UCLA sophomore Jessie Fleming who featured for Canada in the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup and the 2016 Summer Olympics.

The MAC Hermann Trophy Watch Lists are compiled by members of the United Soccer Coaches Men’s and Women’s NCAA Division I All-America Committees. Fifteen semifinalists will be named for both the men’s and women’s MAC Hermann Trophy near the end of the college season based on voting by NCAA Division I coaches and from those candidates, three finalists will ultimately be placed on the ballot for the coveted award.

View the 2017 Watch Lists.