The Missouri Athletic Club to Present College Soccer’s Top Award – Jan. 8

ST. LOUIS - - The Missouri Athletic Club will present the Hermann Trophy to the top male and female collegiate soccer players in the nation on Friday, Jan. 8. The crystal soccer ball trophy represents the highest individual achievement in the sport. Many of the biggest names in American soccer, including Mia Hamm, Kristine Lilly, Claudio Reyna and Alexi Lalas, have won the award.

The finalists for the 2015 men’s MAC Hermann Trophy are Brandon Allen (Georgetown), Fabian Herbers (Creighton) and Jordan Morris (Stanford). The finalists for the women’s award are Kadeisha Buchanan (West Virginia), Raquel Rodriguez (Penn State) and Emily Sonnett (Virginia). A live stream of the press conference announcing the winners will be carried on beginning at 6 p.m. (CST).

The winners and finalists for the MAC Hermann Trophy are determined by a vote of Division I coaches who are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA). Also, an online fan vote (the equivalent of one coach’s vote) is factored into the final vote total. The Missouri Athletic Club has been honoring the top players in college soccer since 1986.