MAC Hermann Trophy Winners in the Pros

Currently, 12 MAC Hermann Trophy Winners are playing soccer professionally, all of them in the United States.  There are five playing in Major League Soccer, two playing in the United Soccer League, and five playing the National Women's Soccer League. As we begin the final stretch in the American soccer schedule lets check in on how the MAC Hermann Trophy alumni are doing this season.

Morgan Brian, Christen Press, Kelley O'Hara, and Christine Sinclair all play in the NWSL but they also spent time in Canada this summer competing in the Women's World Cup. The winner of the last two MAC Hermann Trophies and current member of the Houston Dash, Morgan Brian, is looking to add to the two assists she notched in the four games she played before departing for the World Cup. Kelley O'Hara plays for the New Jersey based, Sky Blue FC, and has 3 goals and 3 assists in her 8 games played.

Christen Press is back in her starring role with the Chicago Red Stars where in her first four games she tallied a whopping five goals, two of which were game winners, and 1 assist. Since returning from the World Cup Press has added 3 goals as the Red Stars try to make their first playoff appearance in the NWSL. Christine Sinclair suits up for the Portland Thorns where she has 2 goals and 2 assists in 8 games for the Thorns. 

There was one Women's MAC Hermann Trophy winner that narrowly missed participating in this summer's World Cup with the U.S.A. Crystal Dunn was one of the last players to be cut from the US lineup but she has made the most of her time with the Washington Spirit. Dunn leads the NWSL with 13 goals in 17 games. She has also tallied 2 assists and 6 of those goals were game winners.

On the men's side of things, Chris Wingert, the 2003 award winner is the veteran of the group. After spending the majority of his career in Salt Lake, Wingert moved to New York City FC this offseason where he currently anchors the back line. The 2004 award winner, Danny O'Rourke, is currently playing for Portland Timbers 2 in the United Soccer League (USL). After spending  ten years in MLS, largely with the Columbus Crew, O'Rourke now provides veteran leadership for the Timbers 2 backline.

The 2009 award winner, Teal Bunbury, is having a strong season with the New England Revolution. Teal has played in 22 games for the revolution and has tallied four goals and four assists as the Revs try and return to the MLS Cup Final. Not to be outdone by his Akron teammate, the 2010 winner, Darlington Nagbe, is playing a vital role in the Portland Timbers midfield. Nagbe has played in 24 games for the Timbers this season and has 1 goal and 3 assists. 

Andrew Wenger has played in 21  games for the Philadelphia Union this year and has scored one goal and added two assists for the struggling Eastern Conference side. Wenger will have a chance for a trophy though soon as the Philadelphia Union host Sporting Kansas City in the U.S. Open Cup Final on September 30th. The 2012 and 2013 winner, Patrick Mullins, is having a strong sophomore season in MLS after being traded by the Revolution to NYCFC. Mullins has recorded 4 goals and 3 assists in 17 games. The reigning Men's MAC Hermann Trophy recipient and the New York Red Bulls first pick in the 2015 MLS Draft, Leo Stolz, has yet to make an appearance for the MLS club but has found success after being loaned to the New York Red Bulls 2 in the USL.  Stolz has 4 goals and an assist in 17 games for the USL squad. 

With only a few weeks remaining in the NWSL season make sure you head out to support your local team and see MAC Hermann Trophy winners represent your club as the playoff run begins. The MLS season has a few months remaining but make sure you get out to a game before the summer is over. College soccer season's across the country are set to begin, so check out the latest Men's and Women's MAC Hermann Trophy Watch Lists to see who might be joining this club next spring.