Shannon Boxx Announced as Featured Speaker for the 2016 MAC Hermann Trophy Banquet

Recently retired, US Women’s National Team star, Shannon Boxx, will be the featured speaker at the 2016 Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy Banquet taking place on Friday, Jan. 8, 2016 at the Downtown Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, MO.

The MAC hosts an annual banquet each January for players, coaches and their families to present the Hermann Trophy to the top male and top female player in college soccer. In recent years, the format has expanded to include the top three finalists. Shannon Boxx joins a prestigious list of former featured speakers that include Mia Hamm, Taylor Twellman, Brian McBride, Brandi Chastain, Alexi Lalas and others.

Shannon Boxx, part of the 2015 World Cup team that took home the championship this summer in Canada, retired with 195 caps and 27 goals during her 13 year career with the USWNT. Boxx, who won Olympics gold with the national team in 2004, 2008 and 2012 and an NCAA Women's Soccer Championship with Notre Dame in 1995 to go along with the 2015 World Cup, ended her career as one of the world’s all-time great defensive midfielders. Her 195 appearances for the USWNT places her in the top 25 of all international women’s soccer players.

In Her Own Words: Shannon Boxx & the WNT Dream

The semi-finalists for the 2015 MAC Hermann Trophy will be announced on December 1st with the finalists announced on December 16th and ultimately the winners announced at the banquet on Friday, Jan. 8th. Past MAC Hermann Trophy Winners and Finalists include Mia Hamm, Alexi Lalas, Kristine Lilly, Tony Meola, Morgan Brian, Claudio Renya, Kelley O’Hara and Alex Morgan. Fans will have the opportunity to vote on the semi-finalists beginning on December 1st at the MAC Hermann Trophy website at

Individuals or groups interested in attending the MAC Hermann Trophy Banquet should call 314-539-4430 for reservations. More information about the Banquet

Organizations interested in advertising or sponsorship opportunities related to the award and banquet should contact Chris Burt at or at 785-760-3519.

About Missouri Athletic Club

The Hermann Trophy is awarded annually by the Missouri Athletic Club. For over 100 years, the Missouri Athletic Club has been one of the premier private clubs in the country. The MAC has two outstanding facilities for the convenience of members and their families - the main clubhouse in the heart of downtown St. Louis, and the west county clubhouse, located just 20 minutes away in beautiful Town and Country. Find out more at