2006 and 2008 MAC Hermann Trophy Winner

College: University of Notre Dame

Position: Forward

Hometown: Allen, TX


Hanks became just the fourth two-time winner joining Mia Hamm (North Carolina, 1992-93), Cindy Parlow (North Carolina, 1997-98) and Christine Sinclair (Portland, 2004-05). She is the only player, male or female, to win the award in non-consecutive years. She finished the 2008 season ranked fifth in the nation in goals (20), tied for third in assists (15) and tied for second in points (55). The only Division I player to rank in the top five nationally in goals, assists and points this past season, she was named a NSCAA/adidas first-team All-America and the Big East Offensive Player of the Year.

Hanks led the Irish to the College Cup Final, where she set a NCAA championship record by scoring a goal just 0:16 into the match. Hanks finishes her collegiate career tied for second on the NCAA career assists list. She also ranks in the top 20 in seven other NCAA career scoring categories. Hanks established 63 different Notre Dame school records for career, single-season and postseason.

The first runner-up was North Carolina junior forward Casey Nogueira (Raleigh, N.C.) and UCLA senior midfielder Christina DiMartino (Massapequa, N.Y.) was the next runner-up.


Hanks was the first sophomore to claim the top individual honor in women’s soccer. Heading into Notre Dame’s NCAA semifinal match, Hanks was leading the country in both goals (22) and assists (20). Hanks was selected the Big East Conference Offensive Player of the Year.

With 136 career points (50 goals, 36 assists), Hanks totaled more points over the course of her first two seasons than all but two previous players in the 25-year history of Division I women’s soccer.

Hanks already owns or shares an assortment of Notre Dame scoring records. She is the only Irish player to total more than 20 goals in multiple seasons and is the first player in school history to register four career hat tricks prior to her junior season. Hanks becomes the third Notre Dame player to win the women’s award, joining Anne Makinen (2000) and Cindy Daws (1996).

The first runner-up was University of North Carolina senior forward Heather O’Reilly (East Brunswick) and fellow Tar Heel teammate sophomore midfielder Yael Averbuch (Upper Montclair, N.J.) was the second runner-up.