2005 MAC Hermann Trophy Winner

College: University of Maryland

Position: Forward

Hometown: Gonzales, LA

Garey helped lead Maryland to the school’s first NCAA championship since 1968. Garey led the nation in scoring with 22 goals and finished his career as the school’s all-time leading goal-scorer with 60.

Fueled by Garey’s offensive fireworks, the University of Maryland entered the 2005 NCAA Tournament as the No. 1 seed. He scored several big goals during the Terrapins march to the national championship. In Maryland’s 4-1 victory over SMU in the semifinal match, Garey scored two goals just 15 seconds apart to establish the record for fastest consecutive goals in NCAA Tournament history.

The 2005 Atlantic Coast Conference Offensive Player of the Year, Garey is a two-time NSCAA All-America selection and was a semifinalist for the MAC Hermann Trophy in 2004. The 6-foot, 180 lbs. forward was not only productive throughout his four-year career, he proved to be durable. Garey played in 90 of the 91 games Maryland has played since 2002.

Garey scored in classroom as well as on the soccer field. He was named the NSCAA Scholar Athlete of the Year, becoming just the third men’s player to win both National Player of the Year and Scholar Athlete of the Year in the same year. Garey is the first player from Maryland to win Player of the Year honors.

The other two finalists were Indiana University senior midfielder Brian Plotkin (Lisle, Ill.) and University of New Mexico senior forward Jeff Rowland (Albuquerque, N.M.).